Kerala State Film Award; Suraj Best Actor, Kani Kusruthi Actress


Thiruvanathapuram: 50th Kerala State Film Awards were announced by Minister A.K. Balan today. Suraj Venjaramoodu was selected as the Best Actor for Android Kunjappan Ver 5.25 and Vikurthi and Kani Kusruthi as Best Actress for Biriyaani by the jury chaired by cinematographer and director Madhu Ambat.

‘Vasanthi’ produced by Siju Wilson won the Best Film Award among 119 films contested in the competition. Lijo Jose Pellissery was selected as Best Director for Jallikettu while Fahadh Faasil won Best Character Actor for Kumbalangi Nights along with actor Swasika Vijay for Vasanthi.

The Special Jury Award was given to Nivin Pauly for ‘Moothon’ and Anna Ben for ‘Helen’ and ‘Kumbalangi Nights’. Best Popular Film Award was given to ‘Kumbalangi Nights’ and Sushin Shyam won the Best Composer Award for the same film.

Directors Salim Ahmed, Abrid Shine, Film Academy Member Secretary C Ajoy, Cinematographer Vipin Mohan, Writer Benjamin, Editor L Bhuminathan, Sound Engineer S Radhakrishnan, Playback Singer Lathika and Actress Jomol were the members of the Jury.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *